New poem

Lately, Things Have.

I woke this morning and it had gone

Where before one silver starfish had clung

To my left ear, was a hole like a jaw drop

Punchdrunk shocked at its sudden loss

On my right wrist are stitched the co-ordinates of a once broken bone

This. Is. How. We. Map. Out. Our. Losses.

 

On a North bound bridge

The murals of kids- all yolk yellow sunshine and sandpits-

Are lost by sprayed verbs that riot every quiet corner.

Up against such walls I felt I knew

the adjective of spine but lost its noun.

 

Half smoked smokes lighthouse the night path

Of the common cum graveyard.

Words on the go

Slip away like the graveyard playground’s swings

Carry voices in the wind.

Lost reception on the mobile phone

So you’ll never know how I told you in low tones

“I’m sorry for calling so often,

I missed you and cried in public”

 

Next to our house in the middle of the street

The broken brick flapping heap next door

Makes our road a startled bracelet torn

 

Dusk creeps fledgling on, until:

Particles stop behaving as particles

and start behaving as waves.

 

Later. Primrose buds and magnoilia

Emulsion grips the balcony.

Rain grows sinewy.

And we seem

To bubble and froth apart

Like tarmac under heat

When you return home late

And shake your starfish wet hair over me.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment